City of New Hope Logo

City of New HopeMinnesota

Human Rights Commission

Overview and Function

  • The New Hope Human Rights Commission consists of up to 10 members, two of whom may be students attending Independent School District 281. Adult members serve two-year terms, student members serve for one academic year (Sept. 1 to Aug. 31).
  • The commission works in partnership with the state department of human rights to secure equal opportunity in housing, employment, public accommodations, public service, and education, and works consistently to improve the human relations climate of the city.
  • The commission advises the City Council on human rights laws, issues, policies, and programs.
  • At the direction of the City Council, the group develops formal and informal educational opportunities to highlight the federal and state Human Rights Acts and the Americans with Disabilities Act to ensure all citizens have full and equal participation in the affairs of the community. The commission also provides leadership and acts cooperatively with agencies, organizations, and other human rights commissions to recognize and prevent discrimination and inequalities in the daily life of the city.


  • Kendra Curry, Chair
  • Jeremy Bishop
  • Kaamil Hassan
  • Allison Isenberg
  • Deborah Kacheroski
  • Jessica Knapp
  • Maria Leon
  • Matthew London
  • Mindy London

More Information

Agendas and Minutes

Staff Liaison Contact
Chief Tim Hoyt
New Hope Police Department
4401 Xylon Ave N
New Hope, MN 55428
[email protected]

First Monday of Each Month
7 p.m.
New Hope City Hall

City of New Hope | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2024 Civiclive.